Yesterday, I made a trip to downtown Edmonds–a quaint Puget Sound town filled with dog-walkers, boutiques, Saturday summer farmer’s markets, quirky book shops, and a few public beach areas scattered with local restaurants.

I went on a spur-of-the-moment trip with a fellow blogger– Away from the Safe Harbor. The blogger (Alayna Wood) is just starting her written blog now, but her instablog is pretty well established (@awayfromthesafeharbor). She is leaving in a few months to live and teach English in China and I would totally suggest checking out her page! She is also a bit of a travel blog connoisseur and she is a great person to talk to when you are looking for awesome travel-bloggers and instabloggers to follow.

Alayna and I went down to Edmonds and walked through the town, looking at the shops and boutiques for fun. We walked into a Savvy Traveler store because (if you read the about me page of Alayna’s Blog) Alayna is a travel-fiend. We also found a bookstore which just opened. It is painted like a bookshelf and I am kicking myself for not taking a picture of it.

After walking through the stores, we stopped by one of the many murals in Edmonds and snapped a few shots.

PC: Away from the Safe Harbor
PC: Thoughtsofhomes

AFTSH–“Tell me something funny”
TOH–“I want to grow up to be a lemur”
AFTSH– *laughs
TOH– “You look great. But, you know what, I really don’t appreciate you laughing at my dreams…”
AFTSH– *laughs even harder

After a small (yet fabulous) photo shoot, we headed down the road towards the water front and stopped at a local coffee shop– Waterfront Coffee Company.

PC: Thoughtsofhomes

This store serves local Snoqualmie Ice Cream and other foods.

PC: Thoughtsofhomes

They also serve Lavendar Vanilla Italian Sodas and Ginger Peach Iced Tea in these respective sizes–  Shrimp, Clam, Oyster, and Geoduck (pronounced gooey-duck). Can it get any more Pacific Northwestern?

A description of a Geoduck is here.

P.C. Thoughtsofhomes

After instagramming a picture of Alayna (see the widget below) we headed down to the water front and stopped to sit on a Jetty.

There was an older gentlemen who was talking about a Sea Lion so we pulled out my camera to see if we could capture it. We looked through the lens and realized….

DSCN1252

It was just a log…

Behind the rocks we were sitting on, there was a set of those metal binoculars you find in parks secured to the Jetty and I looked through and saw this….

DSCN1257

The actual Sea Lion….

I have lived in this area for over a decade and I had never seen a Sea Lion so close. I was happy to take a shot of it.

After walking down the beach a bit and watching an elderly man paint a piece of driftwood to look like an Orca, we made it home.

It was an Edmonds kind of day.

