We sat in my bedroom listening to David Gray’s “Fugitive” and she asked me what my dreams were.

Being the contemplative that I am, I replied, “It’s going to be one of those nights, isn’t it?”

She laughed. “I don’t know. I just had these friends in high school where we would just drive somewhere and sit together listening to music and talk about dreams.”

“Can they be stupid, yet sentimental, dreams or does it have to be a huge life goal?”, I asked.

“As long as its real.”

I told her about my dream to get all of the songs my father loved to listen to with me as a child on vinyl. I wanted to get an old gramaphone because they looked so much fancier than the ones that look like luggage. I didn’t have any memories of anyone with a gramaphone, but old things have a way of reminding me of times and of people who used to be.

We talked about how difficult just the beginning of adulthood had been and how we would probably face even more difficult times in life. We knew having those melancholy songs that reminded us of a time when life was simpler kept us sane at times.

She played me a song she wanted to hear at her wedding and I thought of Marc Cohn’s “Strangers in a Car”.

Marc Cohn talks about a man who gets into a car with a stranger not knowing where he is going or what he is doing– how the man could be on the way to Heaven or on the road to ruin.

Adult-life forces you to make those sorts of decisions– about where to go and what to do and who to be with while it all happens– and sometimes you try your best and it doesn’t work out as planned. But, it’s not the end of the road yet.

You have to choose the strangers in your life wisely. The strangers who become friends have a huge influence over where you go in life. And I think I have a good set of strangers in my life.

I hope you do too.

