via McBrayer

I went to go see Pippin at the Paramount in Seattle last night, and I definitely almost cried like seven times.

btws…. MINOR SPOILER ALERT…

It felt like a perfect metaphor for a lot of my posts– about the illusion most children have of adulthood and how the spectacular show we think it will be is really just…ordinary.

Adulthood sort of seems like this….

via McBrayer

You’re special, you can make your own decisions, you have money, people will finally respect you, you can have a perfect life with the one you love…

ADULTHOOD IS THE REAL MVP!

…right?…

via McBrayers

I mean, no one admits to believing this,  especially after reaching your teens. But, I don’t know… when adulthood isn’t all lights and tricks, and fiery hoops, we get…devastated….

via McBrayer

…Just like Pippin does in his own life as he grows up and realizes there is a dark side to life. He notes that his education doesn’t make him happy. Fighting for a cause in war doesn’t make him happy. Sex doesn’t make him happy, and neither does power when he takes over his fathers’ kingdom.

via McBrayer

However, when he runs away from his life for the umpteenth time, he meets a widow and her son and they take care of him….

And he is still a poo about wanting his life to be special… but hey, I get you Pippin. Life is hard.

Pippin remains utterly apathetic and depressed until the little boy becomes devastated by his own life experiences. Pippin tries his best to bring him back from the same level of devastation he was in. Pippin begins to change a bit, putting all of his energy and care into the boy and his mother, even though he is still looking for his extraordinary life.

After singing a killer song about how he will never be the man at the head of the table, because he is too extraordinary for an ordinary life….

via McBrayer

He is asked to sit down at, you guessed it….

The head of the table with the widow and her son for their it’s-been-one-year-since-you-arrived-here special dinner. He runs away again to try and find that happiness he has been searching for…

And even with the hoops, the flips, and the tricks and the circus and singers narrating his life (Hey, Pippin, isn’t that pretty extraordinary?)…

via McBrayer

…He isn’t happy.

And I had felt the same too this past year or so as I, like Pippin, began to realize the circus wasn’t real life and that the extraordinary isn’t impossible, but it’s not the everyday.

Pippin stops the circus mid-show and realizes that the most extraordinary thing he will experience in this ordinary life is to have someone who loves him and will live through the ordinary alongside him.

And, I began to think of the ordinary people in my life who became extraordinary because I loved them and they loved me.

via McBrayer

Now, the musical doesn’t sugarcoat it. In fact, right before this realization, both Pippin and the widow sing songs about how horrible life with the other can be. But, they know that it’s the best they have in life– to have someone who cares.

And I don’t think this necessarily has to be in a romantic sense– at least not for everyone.

But, it’s true.

It’s so true that having someone (or someones– let’s not forget the son here) whom loves you and being someone who loves others is just about the only magic in this world that mere humans can create and participate in everyday.

So, hey. I don’t know what the heck I am doing, and maybe I never will feel all that passionate about what I do. But, I can be passionate about the people I share my life with.

So, whom do you love? And have you told them how extraordinary it is to have them in your ordinary life?

To my love,

You are the most extraordinary thing in my ordinary life.

Thoughtsofhomes

DSCN1324

