So, this week was the first week of my first roommate’s first year of teaching. (In this post-grad life, you just can’t help but say the word first three times in a sentence.) I am so incredibly thrilled for her and her students are going to be spoiled with knowledge and fun.

via Cartoon Network

This week was also the week that my most recent roommate went off to China to teach.

And that same day, I went to work as a cashier with a four-year degree.

Now, I’m not jealous. I have both of those opportunities at my fingertips.

I guess, I have just always been the first at everything. I entered kindergarten at age 4, I graduated at 17 and then at 21. I just have always had a head start and this time, I don’t. I have a four-year degree and on Friday I cleaned a bathroom which was so disgusting, my manager apologized.

This is my life.

via Disney

But, I am not above this life. I think, if anything, this is teaching me humility and giving me the drive to have a better life. Life doesn’t hand anything to anyone, and if it did, I think it would make me less of a person.

There is a Serbian proverb that says, ” Be humble for you are made of dung. Be noble for you are made of stars.” And, I agree with that. We are better and worse than we seem at all moments. So, yes. I deserve better than saying cleaning bathrooms is my purpose in life, but I am not too special to clean one either.

You don’t always get what you want right away (In fact, that hardly ever happens.) and sometimes it takes cleaning a few toilets to figure out what you are really willing to do to have a life you are proud of. Being a cashier and cleaning toilets is not something I want to do forever.

But, hey. What do I do?

via MTV

I come up with new career plans every week it seems and they are all far different from the last. In the last four months, I have decided to become a realtor, a school counselor, a post office delivery person, an HR representative, a T-Mobile salesperson, and even a Mod Podge guru who resells refurbished furniture I would buy at thrift stores. Talk about well-rounded…. but hey, we’ve been groomed for well-rounded resumes, have we not?

But, can’t I just chose One Direction?

via Syco Records

If only life were that simple….

So, here’s to finding a job where I don’t have to clean toilets. But, here’s to never thinking I am above that either.

Shoot me an email if you want to talk about life. thoughtsofhomes@gmail.com

Love you all,

thoughtsofhomes

